Trainees encounter climate change - klimAZUBI

Promoting awareness and competencies for operational climate change in the metropolitan region Rheine-Neckar

 
Dipl.-Geogr. Svenja Brockmüller, Christina Lütke, M. Sc., Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund
 
 

Long term maintenance of companies’ economic success requires sustainable adaptation strategies regarding regional- and sector specific consequences of climate change. Markets, production and distribution are particularly affected by extreme events such as persistent heavy rainfall or heat phases. For the implementation of adaptation measures to the progressing climate change at company level, sensitization and formation of awareness are necessary, particularly the sustainable promotion of competencies of employees.

The klimAZUBI- project is funded by the Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, Construction and Reactor Safety. Learning modules are developed, evaluated and optimized at the Department of Geography - Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) of the Heidelberg University of Education in cooperation with selected companies of the metropolitan region (ABB, HeidelbergCement, REWE) as well as the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Rheine- Neckar. In the sense of a bottom-up education approach, the target group are trainees as they will become the future operational actors and decision-makers. Through practical use in in-company training, the modules combine knowledge acquisition and socially responsible action (service learning), based on an innovative double methodical-didactic triangle.

 


Conceptual structure of the educational project "klimAZUBI"

 

Regarding the "natural" environment, this triangle includes (1) identification of consequences of climate change in the terrain, (2) the intensive analysis of individual processes in the laboratory, and (3) evaluation of the sustainability of adaptation measures and options using models. Regarding the “business” environment the triangle includes (1) recognizing branch - specific vulnerability, (2) intense analysis of the specific resilience of individual enterprises as a "test field", and (3) assessment of the sustainability of adaptation measures and options of action using the scenario technique as well as design thinking. These points comprise an integrative elaboration of regional climate impacts on natural resources such as soil, vegetation and water, interlinked with a branch- and company specific view of sustainable adaptation options regarding markets, production and distribution.

The focus lies on a problem analysis from the three perspectives of sustainable development. Instruments for the dissemination and permanent embeddedness of the educational modules are multiplier training courses and workshops for company instructors, the provision of module-specific method boxes as well as the integration of student teachers (peer teaching). 

 

Duration of the project: 4/2016 - 3/2018

 

  

This project is funded by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Construction and Reactor Safety (BMUB) (Funding code 03DAS084).

 

Project partners:    
     
     HeidelbergCement AG, Heidelberg/Leimen
     
    ABB Training Center (ATC) GmbH & Co. KG
     
    REWE Markt GmbH, Wiesloch
     
  IHK Rhein-Neckar, Mannheim

 

Project-related news (in German):

"klimAZUBI" Kickoff meeting am 28.04.2016

Dipl.-Geogr. Svenja Brockmüller auf Vernetzungstreffen "Anpassung an den Klimawandel" in Bonn

Auszubildende begegnen dem Klimawandel - Erfolgreicher Modulstart im Oktober 2016

rgeo-Team auf AK Klima in Bad Dürkheim

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint

Auszubildende begegnen dem Klimawandel - klimAZUBI

Förderung von Bewusstsein und Handlungskompetenz zur betrieblichen Klimaanpassung in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar

Dipl.-Geogr. Svenja Brockmüller, Christina Lütke, M. Sc., Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund
 
 

Zum langfristigen Erhalt des wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs von Unternehmen sind nachhaltige Anpassungsstrategien an die regional- und branchenspezifischen Folgen des Klimawandels notwendig. Märkte, Produktion und Distribution sind insbesondere durch Extremereignisse wie andauernde Starkniederschlags- oder Hitzephasen betroffen. Für die Umsetzung von Anpassungsmaßnahmen an den fortschreitenden Klimawandel auf betrieblicher Ebene bedarf es neben Sensibilisierung und Bewusstseinsbildung v.a. auch der nachhaltigen Förderung von Gestaltungs- und Handlungskompetenz von Mitarbeiter/innen.

In dem durch das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit geförderten klimAZUBI-Projekt werden daher in Kooperation der Abteilung Geographie – Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg mit ausgewählten Unternehmen der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar (ABB, HeidelbergCement, REWE) sowie der IHK Rhein-Neckar Lernmodule zur Klimaanpassung entwickelt, erprobt und optimiert. Zielgruppe im Sinne eines Bottom-Up Bildungsansatzes sind Auszubildende als zukünftige betriebliche Akteure und Entscheidungsträger. Die Module, die durch den praktischen Einsatz in der betrieblichen Ausbildung Wissenserwerb mit gesellschaftlich aktivem Handeln verknüpfen (Service Learning), basieren auf einem innovativen doppelten methodisch-didaktischen Dreiklang.

 

Konzeptioneller Aufbau des Bildungsprojekts "klimAZUBI"

 

Bezogen auf die „natürliche“ Umwelt umfasst dieser Dreiklang (1) das Erkennen der Folgen des Klimawandels im Gelände, (2) die vertiefende Analyse einzelner Prozesse im Labor und (3) die Beurteilung der Nachhaltigkeit von Anpassungsmaßnahmen und Handlungsoptionen mit Hilfe von Modellen. Bezogen auf die „betriebliche“ Umwelt umfasst er (1) das Erkennen der branchenspezifischen Vulnerabilität, (2) die vertiefende Analyse der spezifischen Resilienz einzelner Unternehmen als „Reallabor“ und (3) die Beurteilung der Nachhaltigkeit von Anpassungsmaßnahmen und Handlungsoptionen mit Hilfe der Szenariotechnik und des Design Thinking. Hierbei erfolgt eine integrative Erarbeitung regionaler Klimafolgen auf die natürlichen Ressourcen Boden, Vegetation und Wasser, verzahnt mit einer branchen- und betriebsspezifischen Betrachtung nachhaltiger Anpassungsoptionen hinsichtlich Märkten, Produktion und Distribution.

Im Fokus steht eine Problembetrachtung aus den drei Perspektiven der nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Instrumente zur Dissemination und dauerhaften Verankerung der Bildungsmodule sind neben Multiplikatorenschulungen und Workshops für betriebliche Ausbilder auch die Bereitstellung modulspezifisch ausgestatteter Methodenkoffer sowie die Einbindung von Lehramtsstudierenden (Peer Teaching).

Weitere Projektinformationen können Sie dem folgenden Poster (900 KB, Druckversion DIN A0, 2.400 KB) entnehmen.

 

Projektlaufzeit: 4/2016 - 3/2018

 

  

Dieses Projekt wird durch das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) gefördert (Förderkennzeichen 03DAS084).

 

Projektpartner:    
     
     HeidelbergCement AG, Heidelberg/Leimen
     
    ABB Training Center (ATC) GmbH & Co. KG
     
    REWE Markt GmbH, Wiesloch
     
  IHK Rhein-Neckar, Mannheim

 

Projektbezogene News:

"klimAZUBI" Kickoff meeting am 28.04.2016

Dipl.-Geogr. Svenja Brockmüller auf Vernetzungstreffen "Anpassung an den Klimawandel" in Bonn

Auszubildende begegnen dem Klimawandel - Erfolgreicher Modulstart im Oktober 2016

rgeo-Team auf AK Klima in Bad Dürkheim

Klimafolgen konkret: klimAZUBI-Team erhält vertiefte Einblicke in Kooperationsunternehmen

klimAZUBI-Posterpräsentation auf Lernort Labor-Jahrestagung in Würzburg

klimAZUBI-Vertiefungsmodule erfolgreich gestartet

Umweltaktion der "REWE-klimAZUBIs" rund um die Heidelberger Neckarwiese

Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund auf Vernetzungstreffen 2017 "Förderung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an die Folgen des Klimawandels" in Bonn

Vortrag von S. Brückmüller & C. Lütke "Unternehmensanpassung an den Klimawandel" im Rahmen der NTG-Colloquiumsreihe der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum