The potential contribution of digital aerial and remote sensing images to systemic thinking within the framework of education for sustainable development

Dipl.-Geogr. Markus Jahn
 
First advisor: Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund

In geography, space-related information is traditionally conveyed using maps. However, map information is encoded as symbols. In contrast, aerial images and satellite images depict space-related information in a way that appears more realistic, giving image viewers insight into spatial structures and relationships. Through the comparison of images, spatial and temporal changes and processes become observable, too.

In the dissertation, the potential of aerial/satellite imagery to provide space-related information, which allows students to develop systems thinking in the context of the Education for Sustainable Development (ESD), is under investigation. Interconnected thinking is a central component of systems thinking, which is one of the major educational goals of the ESD. In context of ESD, systems thinking pertains to the conceptual as well as structural knowledge on different levels.

In order to conduct the investigation, a four-hour intervention has been developed dealing with lignite mining and its social, economic and environmental impacts. Overall, 294 students from 11th to 13th grade participated. While the treatment group worked with aerial/satellite images, the comparison group analyzed topographic maps. Concept Maps (CM) have been used as the central tool to grasp and diagnose the students´ systems thinking-related knowledge.

Conclusions regarding the "efficacy" of the different media to provide adequate space-related information and be an impulse for further thoughts will be drawn based on a diagnosis of the knowledge given in two CM of each student. The first CM is based on their previous knowledge, the second one is a version modified during the treatment. The evaluation will be performed in a predominantly qualitative manner regarding their correctness and relevance to the topic. The evaluation will be done  by two raters.

 

 

 

Which medium enables students in a better way to think in interconnections in the context of ESD: aerial/satellite images or topographic maps?

 

Project start: 2009

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint

Der potenzielle Beitrag von digitalen Luft- und Satellitenbildern zum systemischen Denken im Rahmen der Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Dipl.-Geogr. Markus Jahn
 
Erstbetreuer: Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund

 

Karten sind das klassische geographische Medium für die Aneignung raumbezogener Informationen. Während die Wirklichkeit in ihnen über Kartenzeichen verschlüsselt dargestellt ist, geben Luft-/Satellitenbilder einen bildhaft-anschaulichen Einblick in die Strukturen und Zusammenhänge eines Raumes. Bei einem Bildvergleich können zudem raum-zeitliche Veränderungen und Prozesse sichtbar werden.

In der Dissertation wird das Potenzial von Luft-/Satellitenbildern untersucht, Lernenden raumbezogene Informationen zu vermitteln, die es ihnen ermöglichen, im Rahmen der Bildung für eine Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) vernetzt zu denken. Vernetztes Denken stellt eine zentrale Komponente systemischen Denkens dar, die eines der essentiellen Lernziele der BNE beschreibt. Vernetztes Denken im Kontext der BNE betrifft inhaltliches und strukturelles Wissen auf verschiedenen Ebenen.

Für die Ermittlung des spezifischen Potenzials wurde eine vierstündige Intervention zum Thema „Der Braunkohleabbau und seine Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaft, Umwelt und Gesellschaft“ entwickelt, an der 294 Schüler der Kursstufe teilnahmen. Während eine Treatmentgruppe mit Luft-/Satellitenbildern arbeitete, wertete eine Vergleichsgruppe Topographische Karten aus. Zentrales Erhebungsinstrument für das systemrelevante Wissen waren Concept Maps (CM).

Ein Rückschluss auf die „Wirksamkeit“ der verschiedenen Medien als Informationsgrundlage sowie als visueller Impuls für weiterführende Gedankengänge erfolgt über eine Diagnose des dargestellten Wissens in der vorwissensbasierten und während des Treatments modifizierten CM der Schüler. Die Auswertung erfolgt vorwiegend qualitativ hinsichtlich der sachlogischen Richtigkeit und thematischen Relevanz durch zwei Auswerter.

 

 

 

Welches Medium ermöglicht es Schülern auf eine bessere Art und Weise, im Rahmen der BNE vernetzt zu denken: Luft-/Satellitenbilder oder Topographische Karten?

 

Projektbeginn: 2009

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum