Measurement and development of systems thinking in the context of spatial human-environmental relations – empirical findings regarding the structure of system competence and its promotion by means of analogue and digital models

Dr. Svenja Brockmüller
 
First advisor: Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund
Second advisor: Prof. Dr. Stephan Schuler
 

The dissertation has been published here.

 

Estimating the consequences of soil erosion and developing suitable adaptation and conservation strategies are argued to be a challenge for society, especially against the background of regional impacts of global climate change. Understanding geographical systems is essential in this context, because people can only get involved in the sustainable development of regions if they recognize and understand the complex relationships between humans and the environment.

Thus, from an educational viewpoint, the focus of research is finding best ways to enhance this competence to understand geographical systems. Therefore, the presented study compares differences between three groups of pupils working with different methodological approaches by means of analysis of variance (ANOVA). During the intervention, the students record, analyze and evaluate the complex influencing factors on soil erosion by means of

(1)   hands-on experiments,

(2)   abstract computer simulations, and

(3)   a combination of both approaches.

A test to measure systems thinking in the context of soil erosion is developed an evaluated regarding its validity and reliability. Complementary, the structure of the theoretical construct systems thinking is examined by factor analyses.

 

 

Mean differences of systems thinking (split by dimensions) regarding treatment group and time of measurement

 

In summary, the results provide a theoretical contribution concerning the structure of system competence in context of spatial human-environmental relations. Besides, they provide support for classroom teaching regarding the development of students’ systems thinking. In the context of soil erosion, the combination of analogue and digital models contributes statistically significantly to promote system competence and thus is recommended for teaching practice.

 

Project period: 2014 - 2019

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint | Data Privacy

Erfassung und Entwicklung von Systemkompetenz – empirische Befunde zu Kompetenzstruktur und Förderbarkeit durch den Einsatz analoger und digitaler Modelle im Kontext raumwirksamer Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen

 

Dr. Svenja Brockmüller
 
Erstbetreuer: Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund
Zweitbetreuer: Prof. Dr. Stephan Schuler

 

Die Dissertation wurde hier veröffentlicht.

Die Abschätzung von Folgen der Bodenerosion sowie die Entwicklung geeigneter Anpassungsstrategien und Schutzmaßnahmen gelten gerade auch vor dem Hintergrund der regionalen Folgen des globalen Klimawandels als gesellschaftliche Herausforderung. Hierbei ist geographisches Systemverständnis von maßgeblicher Bedeutung, da Personen sich nur dann an einer umweltgerechten bzw. nachhaltigen Entwicklung von Räumen beteiligen können, wenn sie die komplexen Mensch-Umwelt-Zusammenhänge erkennen und verstehen.

Folglich steht aus didaktischer Sicht die Forschungsfrage im Vordergrund, auf welche Weise ein größtmöglicher Kompetenzzuwachs dieses geographischen Systemverständnisses erreicht werden kann. In der vorgestellten Studie werden Unterschiede zwischen Schülergruppen varianzanalytisch analysiert, die mit unterschiedlichen methodischen Zugängen arbeiten: Die Schüler/innen der gymnasialen Oberstufe erfassen, analysieren und bewerten die komplexen Einflussfaktoren der Bodenerosion

(1) mit Hilfe eines konkret-gegenständlichen Modellexperiments,

(2) mittels einer abstrakt-digitalen Computersimulation bzw.

(3) durch eine Verknüpfung beider methodischer Zugänge.

Ein Testinstrument zur Messung von Systemkompetenz im Kontext Bodenerosion wird entwickelt und hinsichtlich seiner Validität und Reliabilität überprüft. Zusätzlich wird die Struktur des Konstrukts Systemkompetenz faktorenanalytisch beleuchtet.

 

Mittelwertunterschiede der Systemkompetenz (nach Dimensionen) zwischen Interventionsgruppen und Messzeitpunkt

 

In der Gesamtschau liefern die Ergebnisse der vorliegenden Arbeit neben einem theoretischen Beitrag zur Entschlüsselung der Struktur von Systemkompetenz im Kontext raumwirksamer Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen insbesondere auch unterrichtspraktische Hinweise zur Systemkompetenzentwicklung. Die am Beispiel Bodenerosion exemplarisch untersuchte Kombination analoger und digitaler Modelle erreicht bei gleichem unterrichtlichem Zeitaufwand einen bedeutsam höheren Beitrag zur Förderung von Systemkompetenz, sodass sie dem jeweils isolierten Einsatz der einen oder anderen Methode evidenzbasiert vorgezogen werden kann.

 

Projektlaufzeit: 2014-2019

Choose your language: deutschenglish

Kontakt | BNE-Leitbild | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum | Datenschutz