YCHANGE - Young Scientists as Change Explorers

Dr. Martin HämmerleProf. Dr. Alexander Siegmund
 

Remote sensing data such as satellite imagery or high-resolution orthophotos are of high value for science and business with respect to a broad range of applications and research topics. However, these kinds of data are still rarely used in Geography education.The main aim of the project YCHANGE is to close this gap via an international cooperation on European level. Thus, the project intends to

Within the frame of the project, innovative didactical modules for teaching and learning are provided and conducted. They introduce the high potential of remote sensing data with respect to school education and enhance individual and research-oriented learning. The participating pupils conduct own analyses based on modern remote sensing data such as the imagery provided by ESA within the Copernicus program. The pupils’ research projects and results are subsequently published via the project web platform https://www.ychange.eu/, which offers the following functionalities:

Via the project YCHANGE, a pool of public datasets and analysis results will be established which comprises environmental research projects covering different study areas in Europe. Furthermore, teachers receive training in order to generate multipliers with skills in remote sensing software. The multiplier training units base on the online remote sensing platform “Focus remote sensing” (http://www.blif.de), and also convey practical skills to design and conduct student projects which focus on human-environmental interaction.

The YCHANGE project aims will be tackled by a scientific examination of the submitting students and trained multipliers within the frame of a pretest posttest design, considering project and training as relevant interventions with respect to remote sensing competences and awareness regarding human-environmental interaction and environmental change in a European context.

The project YCHANGE is a cooperation of Charles University Prague, Tallinn University, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland, and Heidelberg University of Education.

The project is funded by the European Union (ERASMUS+) und Swiss Foundation for the promotion of Exchange and Mobility (movetia).

Funding period: 2017-2018

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint | Data Privacy

YCHANGE - Young Scientists as Change Explorers

Dr. Martin Hämmerle, Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund

 

Fernerkundungsdaten wie beispielsweise großräumige Satellitenbilddaten oder hochaufgelöste Orthophotos finden in der Wissenschaft und in der freien Wirtschaft vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten und aktuelle Anwendungsbereiche. Die Nutzung dieser Daten im Geographieunterricht hingegen ist bislang auf ein Minimum beschränkt.

Das YCHANGE-Projekt verfolgt das Ziel, diese Lücke in internationaler Zusammenarbeit auf europäischer Ebene zu schließen. Es sollen

Im Rahmen des Projekts kommen didaktisch innovative Lehr-Lern-Module zum Einsatz. Diese eröffnen Potenziale von Fernerkundungsdaten für die Bildungsarbeit und fördern individuelles, forschungsbasiertes Lernen. Die Schüler führen dabei auf Grundlage der Daten von modernen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten wie dem Copernicus-Programm der Europäischen Weltraumbehörde eigene Analysen der Satellitenbilder durch und stellen ihre Ergebnisse auf einer Web-Plattform online. Die Web-Plattform https://www.ychange.eu/ stellt folgende Funktionen bereit:

Durch das YCHANGE-Projekt entsteht so ein Daten-Pool zu umweltrelevanten Fragestellungen für verschiedene Raumausschnitte Europas, der jedermann öffentlich zugänglich ist. Ferner wird eine Reihe von Fortbildungen in den Ländern der Projektpartner angeboten. Dort werden aktuelle und zukünftige Lehrkräfte als Multiplikatoren im Umgang mit der Fernerkundungssoftware „Blickpunkt Fernerkundung“ (http://www.blif.de) sowie in der Konzeption und Durchführung von Schülerprojekten im Bereich der Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen praxisnah geschult.

Die mit Hilfe der Online-Plattform durchgeführten Schülerprojekte sowie die Schulungsveranstaltungen für Lehrkräfte werden von den TeilnehmerInnen evaluiert und die Ergebnisse wissenschaftlich ausgewertet.

Das Projekt YCHANGE erfolgt als Kooperation der Karls-Universität Prag, Universität Tallinn, Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg.

Projektlaufzeit: 2017-2018

Dieses Projekt wird durch die Europäische Union (ERASMUS+) und Schweizerischen Stiftung für die Förderung von Austausch und Mobilität (movetia) gefördert.

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum | Datenschutz